Hey all, I've played about 100 turns of a 10+ player FC game I'm hosting on a server. Thing is, I've just gotten around to irrigating some of my larger cities' grassland tiles. Now I want to build roads in those squares -- can I? What are the implications / limitations of doing that?
I checked the manual and couldn't find any guidance.
Wrytous 12:04, 31 August 2008 (UTC)
- Yes, you can have roads and irrigation simultaneously on the same tile. I've updated the Terrain page to make this explicit.
- I think these are the only things to watch out for like this with improvements in the default ruleset -- all documented on Terrain:
- You can't have mine and irrigation simultaneously -- you have to choose. (If you build one then the other, the first will disappear.)
- If you build a city on a tile with a fortress, the fortress will disappear, potentially reducing vision.
- Improvements can disappear when terrain is altered (but only if the resulting terrain doesn't support them -- transforming Plains to Grassland won't lose irrigation/roads, for instance).
- Don't forget when planning long roads that you can't build roads on river squares until you've learned Bridge Building. (But building a city on a river square can circumvent this, as cities always have roads.)
- -- JTN 12:53, 31 August 2008 (UTC)
- Postscript - cities on rivers no longer (in recent ruleset versions) have roads before you have researched Bridge Building. -- Robin Patterson (Talk) 21:53, March 22, 2016 (UTC)